tikistitch: (Default)
[personal profile] tikistitch
So, amongst Mr. Tikistitch's current obsessions is the boxed set of DVDs for the LFL series, The Young Indiana Jones Chronicles. Sadly, we completely missed this show the first time around, in the early 90s. We've spent the last few evenings watching the first episodes, and have been thoroughly impressed by the fine production values--each episode was supposed to have originally cost over a mill, and you can see the money up on the screen.

As far as the storylines, since this show was aimed at kids, each episode seeks to teach An Important Lesson. So far, this has consisted of young Indy running into an improbable variety of turn of the century celebrities, ranging from Teddy Rooselvelt to Sigmund Freud, all of whom try to sum up their own historical importance for the benefit of our young hero (and the audience) within the time alotted (less commercial breaks).

These admirable aims have caused, from our perspective at least, some inconsistency in the accessibility of the storylines. For examply, when Indy's family travels to Paris, the young scamp - along with his new buddy, a young, curly-haired Norman Rockwell - is whisked away for a night out with Picasso and Braque. There's Cubism, nude wimmin, the Can-Can, and it all climaxes in a glorious brawl at a Paris nightclub. Best. Night. Ever. OTOH, in the snorific episode we viewed last night, whilst Prof. Henry Jones Senior is off giving a lecture, Indy's mom is romanced by sleazy opera guy Puccini. We learn that Puccini wrote Madame Butterfly, and to stay away from Italian men, especially those with moustaches, but not much else. Uncharacteristically for an entertainment associated with Raiders of the Lost Ark, tiki had to go to bed before she dozed off on the couch.

Mr. Tiki, and ourselves, started to ponder, as one will, as to what could be done to improve the now more than 10 year old show.

"Young Indy ought to fight Nazis and stuff!" posited Mr. Tiki.

Er, in 1910? we averred.

"He could meet Young Hitler! He could be a little kid, with a little moustache!!"

Indy Jones meets Baby Hitler?

"Indy could kick his ass! It would be cool!!"

Mr. Tiki should have his own network we think.

Date: 2007-10-30 08:11 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] wintersweet.livejournal.com
I think there's an episode with Houdini, too, but I could be imagining things. My mom and I enjoyed those shows when they first aired, for the most part.

Date: 2007-10-30 08:33 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] tikistitch.livejournal.com
You know there's going to be a Star Wars TV series? Folks at Lucasfilm like to refer to Young Indy as a model for what they're trying to do with the Star Wars show in terms of quality. A lot of Star Wars fans seem to have this notion that nothing George has done after about 1980 has been any good, but I think this is pretty not-bad, especially for a kids show.

Date: 2007-10-30 08:48 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] wintersweet.livejournal.com
Yeah, that could be OK then. :)

Date: 2007-10-30 11:19 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] loli-cat.livejournal.com
That show rocks!! Someday (after my last VCR dies, I suppose) I'll have to buy the DVDs but I'll miss laughing at the commercials in the taped-off-tv tapes!! ^0^

Date: 2007-10-31 01:05 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] avalonjones.livejournal.com
I would totally support Mr. Tikistitch having his own network. There would be some fine, fine programming on it!

Profile

tikistitch: (Default)
tikistitch

December 2020

S M T W T F S
  12345
6789 101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 03:53 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios