Ahhhhh... Footloose ! Some kids used to think it was cool... But I was never fooled by it. I preferred Flashdance ;-) (and yes, I've worn leggins with legwarmers and a long, off the shoulder sweatshirt when i was way too young for that sort of shit).
Heh. I remember The Sweater. Suddenly, overnight, you could see everyone's boobs through their armholes. And then, in a flash(dance) the trend was over. I never had The Sweater (I hung with a group of angry protofeminists who derided it as the "Jennifer Beals F-Me Sweater" and would have expelled me from their midst for any signs of ripped armholes), but I cheerfully purchased the Footloose soundtrack in all its awesome vinyl glory. And I saw this video like 800 gazillion times.
I'll try to find a YouTube of Bret dancing--it was glorious. I only wish they'd at one point switched to an obvious stunt double in a wig.
Oh no! Kevin Bacon's mind-control chip keeps malfunctioning and administering violent electric shocks to his brain, making his body flail and spasm violently!!
no subject
Date: 2007-09-03 11:06 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2007-09-03 02:46 pm (UTC)I'll try to find a YouTube of Bret dancing--it was glorious. I only wish they'd at one point switched to an obvious stunt double in a wig.
no subject
Date: 2007-09-03 05:12 pm (UTC)... Oh, he's dancing? ... Oh, okay.
*snicker*
no subject
Date: 2007-09-03 07:53 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2007-09-03 08:55 pm (UTC)I blame Bret...
Date: 2007-09-04 12:34 am (UTC)