An actual bad review
Feb. 22nd, 2012 05:48 pmI did not like a Hrithik Roshan movie?
Because I DID NOT LIKE Hrithik Roshan's character???
The culprit: Mujhse Dosti Karoge. This movie looked very good on paper: a reverse Cyrano, starring Hrithik and a pretty girl and a "nerd" girl (given this is an Indian movie, they're actually both stunningly beautiful, be we can overlook that). I tend to think Cyrano works better in reverse, because, though women can definitely be as shallow as men, I think men tend to track more on looks. So, baby Hrithik has two best friends, both little girls, a "plain" one and a pretty one. When his parents move away to London, he asks the pretty but shallow one, Tina, to write him. Given that she's shallow, she says fuck it, so the plain one, Pooja, emails him instead, but she SIGNS the email Tina. (I guess once again Hrithik is too stupid to see the return email address?) So, anyway, they fall for each other over email, and then, when he's all growed up to be Hrithik, he visits.
Of course, being shallow himself, he immediately lunges for pretty Tina. The next hour is him basically figuring out he doesn't like Tina, he likes Pooja. This bit is enjoyable and well done.
And then it goes south: whle they're together in London, Hrithik figures out Pooja's ruse. He's mad at Pooja for a bit (he sort of acts like a dick about it - bad Hrithik!) but THEN it gets worse! Literally 30 seconds later, in the middle of the same rant, he decides it's TRUE LOVE and they're DESTINED for each other, no matter what fate may hold! And, there's thunder crashing and all that shit, and you're like, SAY WUT?
Well, it's intermission, and time for the TWEEST - the lovers, Hrithik and Pooja, arrive back in India and find out O NOES HRITHIK CAN'T MARRY POOJA, HE AMS MUST MARRY TINA. Despite, you know, not loving her and stuff. And the thing is, were I Pooja, I wouldn't wanna marry the sucker either, he's kind of turned into a jerk. AND THEN IT GETS WORSE! They bring in Uday Chopra as a match for Pooja. He played the comic relief in Dhoom 2. And he is ADORABLE! I mean, if Pooja had any sense in her brain, she would be all over this dude, due to him being sweet and funny and NOT A DICK.
Anyways. Yeah. I guess this film didn't do well domestically in India, so I'm not the only one who was kinda "meh." Hey, you pays your money, you takes your chances. Oh, but this one tonight? Looks like Best Movie Ever. So, we'll see....