New Trek

May. 10th, 2009 07:54 am
tikistitch: (Default)
[personal profile] tikistitch
Herein are reactions to the new Trek movie.

First, my credentials as a Trekkie, which are sterling: I saw most of the original series when it was originally broadcast. Most of you on LJ cannot say this, due to the whole not-being-alive-yet thing.



Likee:

  • Crackadelic! You know at some point, Bones is gonna have to mutter, "Dammit, Jim," and Scottie is gonna go wailing through Engineering trilling "We need more powerrrrrrrrr!" It was done, and it was just lovely.
  • Despite the superb FX, Abrams got something essential: it's all about the chemistry of the crew. And that was spades. You just wanna Mary Sue yourself onto the bridge and hang out with these guys.
  • Simon Pegg.
  • Retro awesome: loved loved loved the girls in miniskirts and way too much hair.
  • Poor paragliding Red Suit Dude! Even Mr. Tiki picked up on the fact that Things Would Not End Well.
  • Did I mention Simon Pegg?
  • The Kobayashi Maru simulation: Kirk, you reprogramming rapscallion!
  • The whole alternate universe thing = win. (Just don't go trying to reconcile it with midichlorians or some shit in the sequel, or we'll go ballistic.)
  • Spock: always knew the dude was irresistible to women, ha!
  • Cinerama: gotta give props to our favorite-est local theater. There ain't a bad seat in the house, and the audience was in a great mood.
  • OMG SIMON PEGG!


No Likee:

  • Uhura was adorable, but really didn't kick much ass, and unfortunately, there just ain't another female character from the original. Maybe a nasty female villain in the sequel? They definitely gotta kick this one up a notch.
  • [livejournal.com profile] blowdry is gonna unfriend me for this, but too dang much Ambassador Spock. Yeah, yeah, we all *heart* Leonard but there is too much of a good thing.
  • Speaking of too much, when the inevitable sequel comes out, they're prolly gonna have to come up with, ya know, a plot and stuff. We're not gonna sit through another two hours of "Dammit Jim!"




Gots to go do some more work on our Stitch Room of Goodness. BTW, any idears as to what to call our Stitch room? Stitchsylvania? The Duchy of Stitchenstein?

Date: 2009-05-10 04:26 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] dark-skada.livejournal.com
You forgot about what we dubbed the "pocket katana" ... because pocket knives are so 21st century...

And I was very very very disappointed at the lack of "he's dead Jim"... but then again, I'm not only a part of the many who was too young for the original series on TV, I kinda subscribe to a Star Trek philosophy of "if Patrick Stewart isn't in the frame, my ADD has already distracted me with something else in the room..." soooooooooo maybe it's not that important.

Date: 2009-05-10 07:40 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] tikistitch.livejournal.com
Indeed! Sulu + sword = win! Especially because in this equation Sulu = Harold!!!

I'm kind of wondering if there was "He's dead, Jim." The good doc seemed to kind of disappear in the latter half of the movie. 'Twas fine, because that's when the Peggster arrives, but was a bit odd.

Jean-Luc Picard 4 EVAR! I think he is my fave Trek Captain/Commander/Leader dealie, along with Sisko.

Date: 2009-05-10 07:51 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] dark-skada.livejournal.com
I have an ...unhealthy... obsession with celebrity crushes on actors older than I am. Patrick Stewart, Harrison Ford, etc. So, I will watch ANYTHING with Patrick Stewart in it. And I will probably not pay attention to anything else but him... HOWEVER, he did make a *fantastic* Starship Captain... ::swoon::

Funny story about Sisko... despite being my third favorite Captain I named my childhood dog Sisko after Captain Benjamin Sisko... my twin sister? Named her's Shiner after Shiner Bock (the beer). We were 11. I often use this as an example of how different we are...

I only wanted the "he's dead Jim" because my husband is named Jim and there's a lot of very bad "he's dead Jim" and "dammit Jim" jokes that run around in our household...

Date: 2009-05-10 08:00 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] embitca.livejournal.com
too dang much Ambassador Spock. Yeah, yeah, we all *heart* Leonard but there is too much of a good thing.

I agree with you 100%. One scene would have been plenty. I vote him off the sequels!

Other than that, the movie was perfection.

Date: 2009-05-10 11:38 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] blowdry.livejournal.com
LMAO. Well Nero was after "Spock Prime". I thought it was just right - and you know he had to meet himself.

I would love to see Nurser Chapel appear at some point to round out the original crew. And maybe have a love triangle plot with Spock. LOL. Perhaps Uhura will get a better chance to kick ass in the next one, something she did not do in TOS, except in Mirror, Mirror. :B

Date: 2009-05-11 07:05 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] nitasee.livejournal.com
Yup. I caught the red shirt deal immediately.

Spock / Uhura. So good.

Also, Uhura didn't get to kick ass, but we at least got to know she was more than "hailing frequencies open". She's smart! (Well, duh. She was snogging Spock.)

SIMON PEGG!!!

Profile

tikistitch: (Default)
tikistitch

December 2020

S M T W T F S
  12345
6789 101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 11:03 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios