tikistitch: (Default)
[personal profile] tikistitch
Because all our friends are more awesome than us, looks like pretty much everybody has already seen this, but whatever....



We had read everybody's LJ reactions beforehand. So, to give you an idea of where our heads were going in, tiki's read the graphic novel like 16 bazillion times, but not lately, and since our copy's been lost to the Sands of Time. Mr. Tikistitch hadn't read it (he'd like to, if it ever turns up), but we kinda filled him on The Watchmen Universe According to Someone Who Had to Check Wikipedia to Remember How the Fuck It Really Ended.

We both found it surprisingly coherent. We had expected an experience something like the Dune film, with loosely connected setpieces and a lot of Wha? in between. There was obviously a lot of subtext left out. Some cool nods to the fans, like that "S.Q.U.I.D." sign. Obviously, no pirate ship, but they did include the newsstand guy and the comic reader guy.

There were also all these (to us anyway) jarring "300" sequences, where apropos of nothing, a Watchmen chara would suddenly decide they were a Spartan and start a slow motion attack run through whatever bad guys. We kept expecting Night Owl to conveniently tear up his costume at the midriff to reveal a jaunty sixpack.

As usual, Mr. Tiki had the last word. As he said, this was cool, but nothing we're in a big hurry to see again. As we said, we've read the novel gajillion times, but there was none of that "Ooo, I gotta see Batman whack that bad guy again!" feeling here.

Date: 2009-03-09 01:30 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mmymoon.livejournal.com
I'm still morally opposed to the entire idea of, as Mr. Moore put it, "regurgitated worms." But I'm kind of a harpy anyway. (See, you have to KNOW about fantasy to know what a harpy is, but they still mock and belittle their kindred where need be!) I mean, I thought 300 was one of the worst movies ever, so Spartan-Watchmen is about as appealing as... well, watching the crappy fragments of what once as an interesting novel, before it was digested through the colon of Hollywood.

WHEE

Is there a club for aging geeks who hate everything? SpiteCon?

Someone?

Anyone?

Date: 2009-03-09 02:11 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] tikistitch.livejournal.com
I liked Meet the Spartans better than 300.

If there is a SpiteCon, I am going.

Date: 2009-03-09 02:26 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] nitasee.livejournal.com
jarring "300" sequences

You're not the only one who felt that way. While I thought they did a remarkable job overall telling the story, there were times - usually those "300" sequences - when I felt like the creators were a bit too enamored of all those fancy new camera/computer tricks that are now available.

Date: 2009-03-09 09:51 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] igrrl.livejournal.com
The high speed camera didn't bother me too much. Yeah, I don't care for it but I figured it's just the director's trademark. Like Raimi's shaky cam, Scorsese's tracking shots, or Kitamura's rotating 360 work - just not as cool.

What I *hated* was the 300 reference in the very beginning.
That was spectacularly lame.

Profile

tikistitch: (Default)
tikistitch

December 2020

S M T W T F S
  12345
6789 101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 04:02 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios