Because [livejournal.com profile] annlarimer rules the universe

Dec. 5th, 2008 10:19 am
tikistitch: (Default)
[personal profile] tikistitch
01. Name a movie that you have seen more than 10 times.
Road Warrior. Repo Man. Aliens. All the stuff I used to have on videotape back in the 80s.
02. Name a movie that you've seen multiple times in a theatre?
Star Wars. The Empire Strikes Back. Return of the Jedi. The Phantom Menace. Attack of the Clones. Revenge of the Sith. Anyone see a pattern here?
03. Name an actor that would make you more inclined to see a movie.
Orson Welles.
04. Name an actor that would make you less likely to see a movie.
Will Smith.
05. Name a movie that you can quote from.
Oh, good, my dog's found the chainsaw.
06. Name a movie musical that you know all the lyrics to all the songs.
The Nightmare Before Christmas. Yellow Submarine.
07. Name a movie that you have been known to sing along with.
Hairspray.
08. Name a movie that you would recommend everyone see.
Seven Samurai. And try to get to see it in a real movie theater. (Also, if you're Ann, see flippin' Night of the Hunter already.)
09. Name a movie that you own.
Caravan of Courage. It's an Ewok movie. On laserdisk. Top that, punks.
10. Name an actor that launched his/her entertainment career in another medium but who has surprised you with his/her acting chops.
Queen Latifah is awesome, and Justin Timberlake is astonishingly non-sucky.
11. Have you ever seen a movie in a drive-in?
We used to go every week when I was a kid.
12. Ever made out in a movie?
Sadly no. I once nearly broke up with a guy in a movie theater. (It was a REALLY bad movie.)
13. Name a movie that you keep meaning to see but just haven't gotten around to it yet?
Crank. Need to add it to my wishlist.
14. Ever walked out of a movie?
Not in a theater. I stopped the tape of Legend of the Overfiend, returned it to the video store, and then came home and took a long shower.
15. Name a movie that made you cry in the theater.
Wing Commander. The horror.
16. Popcorn?
Buttery flavoring AND salt. Dammit.
17. How often do you go to the movies (as opposed to renting them or watching them at home)?
Probably two or three times a month.
18. What's the last movie you saw in the theater?
Quantum of Solace.
19. What is your favorite/preferred genre of movie?
Fantasy, action, kiddie cartoons, musicals - I kind of seem to like everything.
20. What was the first movie you remember seeing in the theater?
Probably Sword in the Stone. At the drive in of course!
21. What movie do you wish you had never seen?
Indecent Proposal. I know all the kids were doing it, but, sheesh.
22. What is the weirdest movie you enjoyed?
Magical Mystery Tour. So bad. But, Beatles.
23. What is the scariest movie you've ever seen?
Texas Chainsaw Massacre. Saw it when I was in college, but I didn't really see it all, because I was kind of cringing behind the guy in front of me. Would be interesting to rewatch some time and see if I had the same reaction nowadays.
24. What is the funniest movie you've ever seen?
Monty Python and the Holy Grail.

Date: 2008-12-05 07:24 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kittytoes.livejournal.com
IS that not the Ewok movie with the random kids?
I was just thinking that I need to try to get my hands on the Star Wars Christmas special to BLOW GIDEON'S MIND...

Also, the Texas Chainsaw massacre is still scary.

Date: 2008-12-05 08:00 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] tikistitch.livejournal.com
There are two Ewok movies. One has a boy and a sister with Shirley Temple curls. And then the next one they kill off the boy and the parents (to almost no emotional effect, the movies are THAT bad) and there's only the Shirley Temple kid. And, I can't remember which is which, and I'm not gonna plug in the LD player, I just want to forget the whole incident and move on with my life.

The Holiday Special? Bea Arthur??? Noooooo!!!!!!

(Though, the Boba Fett cartoon is kinda cool.)

Date: 2008-12-05 09:30 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kittytoes.livejournal.com
I remember the one with the brother and sister! She even had an eighties-tastic headband, no?

He would LOVE it! Seriously, Lumpy? That stuff is made for 5 year olds. He's fascinated by Wookies. :)
Hee Bea Arthur.

Date: 2008-12-05 10:57 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mmymoon.livejournal.com
Cory says the one with the boy and the girl was the BEST EVAR and he watched it all the time.

I just liked the e-e-eeeeeeeeeeeeeeee-woks, the creatures of forest moon...

I spent half an hour looking for the sugar!

Date: 2008-12-05 09:05 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] blowdry.livejournal.com
Magical Mystery Tour is RIDICULOUS, but I love it! I actually found it on DVD last year for like $12.99 at Circuit city of all places. When Amazon was telling me it wasn't available. HA!

Re: I spent half an hour looking for the sugar!

Date: 2008-12-05 09:26 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] tikistitch.livejournal.com
HA! indeed. I'm surprised at how much those Beatles movies pop in and out and in and out of print. You would think, ya know, Beatles, DUH!! I almost wonder if it's something like sometimes Yoko gets in a snit or Paul needs alimony payments.

Oh, also, for extra geek cred points: I saw Magical Mystery Tour in a theater!!! Even though, ya know, it was a teevee movie anyway.
Edited Date: 2008-12-05 09:28 pm (UTC)

Re: I spent half an hour looking for the sugar!

Date: 2008-12-05 09:34 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] blowdry.livejournal.com
LOL, yeah. Help! was out of print for a while and I nearly went to rent it from Blockbuster with the intention of being "forced" to buy it, but then they announced the special edition. Now if they would freaking release Let It Be already. . .

Haha, I had no idea MMT was ever even shown in a theater. That is awesome. :D

Re: I spent half an hour looking for the sugar!

Date: 2008-12-05 10:24 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] tikistitch.livejournal.com
It was a craptacular midnight show! And we showed up drunk, because we could not find drugs. It was the 70s and we didn't know any better.

Date: 2008-12-05 10:55 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mmymoon.livejournal.com
I so couldn't fill this out due to all the theater questions. I just dislike it! Too cold, and the refresh rate (or something visual) gives me a headache, no matter where I sit.

I'm happy to be a child of the VHS era (moving into DVD-play-on-demand. YEEHAW.)

I am sooooooo immune to horror movies. Texas Chainsaw Massacre bored me to tears (both versions) when friends have put them on. ... I don't know, the only real vivid "scared" memory I have from movies is where they put the little rat in the plastic baggie in Hunt for Red October. (Getting the bends is a personal phobia of mine. *shudders*)


Reading this made me realize a favorite actor: John Lithgow. (I like comedians in general, but Robin Williams and Tim Curry and Whoopi all tend to get REASONABLY comedic-aspected roles, even in dramatic movies. Dramatic actors often just rely on typecast; when was the last time Anthony Hopkins did any surprising acting?) John Lithgow, however, always surprises me with his acting skills. Yaaaaaaay. I'd go see movies if he were in them.

Date: 2008-12-05 11:21 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] tikistitch.livejournal.com
I've seen John Lithgow.

In person.

Yes, you may touch my robe.

Profile

tikistitch: (Default)
tikistitch

December 2020

S M T W T F S
  12345
6789 101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 10:35 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios